Skip to main content.
Peter P. Sena III

Peter (Pete) P. Sena III

Executive Vice President and Chief Nuclear Officer 

Peter (Pete) P. Sena III was appointed executive vice president and chief nuclear officer (CNO) of Southern Nuclear in July 2019. Prior to joining Southern Nuclear, he served as president and CNO of PSEG Nuclear beginning in March 2016. During his tenure, PSEG Nuclear’s Hope Creek and Salem 1 nuclear generating stations both completed the first breaker-to-breaker runs in their operating history. Hope Creek also returned to the INPO excellence category in 2018. Sena was named CNO of FirstEnergy in 2012, holding a variety of leadership roles there. He joined FirstEnergy in 1996 as a control room supervisor and obtained his first Senior Reactor Operator (SRO) license at Beaver Valley Power Station Unit 2. He obtained his second SRO license in 1999 for Beaver Valley Unit 1. Following a rotational assignment with INPO, Sena was named operations manager and helped the station earn the “Most Improved Plant” award in 2003. In 2005, he was named director of engineering and the station completed its first extended power uprate for a Westinghouse 3 loop pressurized water reactor. As site vice president of Beaver Valley, Sena led the station to its first INPO Excellence award in 2009. The Davis Besse Nuclear Power Plant returned to INPO’s excellence category under Sena’s leadership as CNO in 2011. Prior to joining FirstEnergy, Sena was employed by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission as a resident inspector in Region 1. His nuclear training began as an officer with the U.S. Naval Nuclear Propulsion program. Sena earned a Bachelor of Science degree in fuel science from Pennsylvania State University in 1985. He currently serves on Auburn University’s Nuclear Engineering Advisory Board. In addition, he serves on the INPO Executive Advisory Committee and the Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI) Nuclear Strategic Issues Advisory Committee. He is chairman of the NEI Accident Tolerant Fuel Working Group.