Skip to main content.

Leadership Team 

Stephen Kuczynski

Stephen Kuczynski

Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer

Steve Kuczynski is chairman, president and chief executive officer of Southern Nuclear, located in Birmingham, Alabama. In this role, he is responsible for all operations of Southern Company’s six nuclear reactors at plants Farley, Hatch and Vogtle. He is also responsible for new nuclear development initiatives, including the construction of Plant Vogtle units 3&4 near Augusta, Georgia. He was elected chairman, president and CEO, effective July 11, 2011. 

Peter P. Sena III

Peter (Pete) P. Sena III

Executive Vice President and Chief Nuclear Officer

Peter (Pete) P. Sena III was appointed executive vice president and chief nuclear officer (CNO) of Southern Nuclear in July 2019. Prior to joining Southern Nuclear, he served as president and CNO of PSEG Nuclear beginning in March 2016. During his tenure, PSEG Nuclear’s Hope Creek and Salem 1 nuclear generating stations both completed the first breaker-to-breaker runs in their operating history. Hope Creek also returned to the INPO excellence category in 2018.

Cheryl Brakefield

Cheryl W. Brakefield

Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer 

Cheryl W. Brakefield is vice president, chief financial officer and treasurer for Southern Nuclear. In this role, Brakefield leads the organization in the development, coordination, management and communication of all financial and business operations matters at Southern Nuclear. She is a member of the Southern Nuclear management council.

Bradley Adams

Bradley (Brad) J. Adams

Vice President, Engineering 

Brad Adams is engineering vice president for Southern Nuclear and is a member of the Southern Nuclear management council. Adams began his nuclear career in 1983 as a design engineer for Commonwealth Edison’s nuclear fuel services group and progressed to design group leader. Adams transferred to Byron Station in 1995 and held managerial positions in regulatory assurance, system engineering and work management before being named Byron’s site engineering director.

Shane Camp

Shane Camp

Vice President, Human Resources 

Shane Camp is vice president of human resources for Southern Nuclear. In this role, he oversees employee relations, talent management, talent acquisition, medical and fitness for duty services, labor relations and communications. He is a member of the Southern Nuclear management council.

Michael Meier

Mike Meier

Vice President, Regulatory Affairs 

Mike Meier is vice president of regulatory affairs for Southern Nuclear, a position he assumed in October 2014. He is responsible for all licensing and interface activities with the Nuclear Regulatory Commission for Southern Nuclear’s fleet, including construction of Vogtle units 3&4. His additional responsibilities include fleet security, fleet environmental and fleet emergency planning. He is a member of the Southern Nuclear management council.

Millicent W. Ronnlund

Millicent W. Ronnlund

Vice President, General Counsel & Compliance Officer 

Millicent W. Ronnlund is vice president, general counsel and compliance officer. In this role, she represents Southern Nuclear and is responsible for its compliance and concerns organizations. She is a member of the Southern Nuclear management council.

Richard Libra

Richard Libra

Senior Vice President, Operations 

Richard Libra joined Southern Nuclear as senior vice president of Operations in October 2019, bringing with him more than 35 years of experience in the commercial nuclear power industry. His extensive background includes expertise with both boiling water reactors (BWR) and pressurized water reactors (PWR), and his efforts have led to five consecutive INPO excellence awards at two separate plants.

Chuck Kharrl

Charles Kharrl

Site Vice President, Joseph M. Farley Nuclear Plant 

Charles Kharrl is site vice president of Plant Farley. He began his career in the nuclear industry after serving as a nuclear propulsion plant operator (machinist mate) in the U.S. Navy. In 1994, he went to work for Detroit Edison, where he took on roles of increasing responsibility, including operations control room supervisor.

Edwin (Sonny) D. Dean

Edwin (Sonny) D. Dean

Site Vice President, Edwin I. Hatch Nuclear Power Plant 

Edwin (Sonny) D. Dean serves as site vice president of Plant Hatch, a role he assumed in June 2019. Previously, he was Fleet Organizational Effectiveness corporate functional area manager in the Governance and Oversight organization at Southern Nuclear.

Drayton Pitts

Drayton Pitts

Site Vice President, Alvin W. Vogtle Electric Generating Plant, Units 1 & 2 

Drayton Pitts joined Vogtle 1&2 as site vice president on May 18, 2020. Pitts has over 39 years of industry experience in operations, maintenance and instrument & controls. Prior to Vogtle, he served as general manager of plant operations at Entergy’s Arkansas Nuclear One Station.

Glen Chick

Glen Chick

Site Vice President, Alvin W. Vogtle Electric Generating Plant, Units 3 & 4 

Glen Chick is executive vice president of Vogtle 3&4, a position he assumed in 2019. Chick joined Southern Nuclear in 2018 as project director for Vogtle 3&4. He was later promoted to vice president, then senior vice president, of construction for the project.  

Aaron Abramovitz

Aaron Abramovitz

Vice President of Business Operations, Alvin W. Vogtle Electric Generating Plant, Units 3 & 4 

Aaron Abramovitz serves as Southern Nuclear’ s Vogtle 3&4 Vice President of Business Operations. Named to the position in June 2018, he leads Southern Nuclear’s Project Controls, Risk Management, Budgeting and Reporting, and Commercial Analysis & Controls for Vogtle 3&4.